Check out steps to enable Read Receipts for a specific contact in iOS 10 Messages app

Check out steps to enable Read Receipts for a specific contact in iOS 10 Messages app

iOS 10 is making your conversations in Messages app more fun and interactive with bigger emojis, stickers and effects. Beside that, iOS 10 also allows you to enable read receipts for a specific contact, so you will be able to know whether your friends or family have read your messages or not.

62

Also read: How to Set an Automatic Message Reply for Gmail, Outlook, iCloud, and Text Message on iPhone

In reality, read receipts are not new in iOS, as Apple has allowed its users to turn them on/off for a while. However, in the older versions of iOS, you only could either enable or disable read receipts for everyone, which disables the ability to filter on a conversation basis.

In this tutorial, we will walk your through the steps to enable read receipts for a specific contact in iOS 10 Messages app.

Steps to enable read receipts for a specific contact in iOS 10 Messages app

Step one: First and foremost, all you have to do now is to launch the Messages app from your Home screen

Step two: Next up, select a current conversation with your person who you wish to enable read receipts for

Step three: Once you are in the conversation, all you have to do now is tap on the “i” button located in the top-right corner of the screen

Step four: Turn on the switch next to Send Read Receipts if you want to turn on read receipts for your chosen conversation. If you don’t want your friends to get to know whether you have read messages, turn it off

Step five: Once you are done, tap Done to finish

Steps to turn on/off read receipts for all contacts in iMessage

Step one: Head to the Settings app from your Home screen. Scroll down to Messages and tap on it to proceed

Step two: Next up, select Send Read Receipts. If the toggle is now turned on, this means that your friends will be able to see when you have read messages. If the toggle is now turned off, you can turn it on a per-person basis.

That’s it! Note that if you change the Settings of read receipts in the Settings app, this means that you have reset the configuration you previously set for specific contacts. Turning off read receipts for a certain conversation will disable the ability to view the read receipts of the other person.

Don’t forget to share your thoughts about this new features in the comments below.

Multimag Comments

We love comments
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.